Your Choice For

Patient-Centered Care

GRMC Foundation Golf Tournament a Success

1st Prize--Team Western Bank: Michelle and Jeff Sanchez, Armando Chavez, Justin Taylor, and Ruben Gomez

Gila Classic Golf Tournament a Success

Silver City, NM --This past Saturday, June 15, the Gila Regional Medical Center (GRMC) Foundation hosted its 24th Annual Gila Classic fundraising golf tournament. This important event raises funds which assist the hospital in making capital purchases not covered by its annual budget.

Nineteen teams competed in this year's tournament, with Armando Chavez, Ruben Gomez, Jeff Sanchez and Justin Taylor of Western Bank taking home first place. In a close second were James Maestas, Johnnie Maestas, Al Moreno and Johnnie Sanchez of Griffin's Propane, and in third place, a combined team of Big-O Tires and Farm Bureau—Susan Sumrall players, David De La Torre, Vince De La Torre, Chris O'Dell and Doug O'Dell.

Left top: Justin Reese - Closest-to-the-Pin;
Left bottom Jeff Sanchez - Longest Drive

Also notching prizes were Justin Reese for Closest-to-the-Pin and Jeff Sanchez for Longest Drive in the on-course competitions. Additionally, forty-nine prizes, with a cash value of over $3,000, were raffled off at the close of play, making nearly all participants feel like winners.

The 2013 Gila Classic was sponsored by Major Sponsor Emergency Staffing Solutions, Event Sponsors WNM Communications and Rydeski & Company, Meal Sponsor Morrison Foods, 9 Mulligan and Range Sponsors, 44 Hole Sponsors, over 25 In-Kind Sponsors.

"This event is the success that it is because of the support and sponsorship we received from our communities and businesses throughout Grant County and southwest New Mexico," stated GRMC Foundation Coordinator Ashleigh Garcia. "The monies raised will work toward keeping quality health care available locally."

2nd Prize—Team Griffin's Propane: James Maestas, Johnnie Maestas, Al Moreno and Johnnie Sanchez

3rd Prize--Team Big-O Tires/ Farm Bureau—Susan Sumrall: David De La Torre, Vince De La Torre, Chris O’Dell and Doug O’Dell.